Yale Computer Engineering Seminar Series - Diana Marcculescu, Carnegie Mellon University

Event time: 
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 10:30am
Student Center, DL 107 See map
10 Hillhouse Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511
Event description: 

Prof. Diana Marculescu. Carnegie Mellon University
Title: The Quest for Energy Aware Computing

Host: Prof. Jakub Szefer, Dept. of Electrical Engineering

Abstract: How  do  natural  systems  endure  and  how  is  nature  inherently  renewable?  Can  we  learn  from  the  supreme engineer -­‐ nature -­‐ how to design systems that are either energy aware by themselves or aid in  achieving  true  sustainability  in  man-­‐made  systems?  Electronic  system  design  has  benefited  from  decades  of  reliable  and  predictable  functionality,  but  this  trend  is  likely  to  slow  down  in  future technology  nodes.  To  support  a  path  toward  energy  aware  computing,  a  holistic  approach  toward  addressing  energy  awareness,  reliability,  and  variability  at  all  the  levels  in  the  system  is  required. Furthermore,  while  design  tools  and  methodologies  for  individual  systems  is  relatively  mature,  achieving true energy efficiency for many real-­‐life applications is still emerging. This talk will discuss our work on achieving superior performance and power efficiency for silicon systems in the presence of challenges induced by manufacturing process uncertainties and will unravel applications of classic tool sets to the design and analysis of large scale real-­‐life applications.

Bio: Diana Marculescu is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. She received the Dipl. Ing. degree in computer science from the Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Bucharest,  Romania,  and  the  Ph.D.  degree  in  computer  engineering  from  the  University  of  Southern  California,  Los  Angeles,  CA,  in  1991  and  1998,  respectively.    Her  current  research  interests  include energy-­‐  and  reliability-­‐aware  computing,  and  CAD  for  non-­‐silicon  applications,  including  e-­‐textiles,  computational biology, and sustainability.

Diana was a recipient of the National Science Foundation Faculty Career Award from 2000 to 2004, the ACM SIGDA Technical Leadership Award in 2003, the Carnegie Institute of Technology George Tallman Ladd Research Award in 2004, and the Best Paper Award at the IEEE Asia and South Pacific Design Automation  Conference  in  2005,  the  Best  Paper  Award  at  the  IEEE  International  Conference  on  Computer Design in 2008, the Best Paper Award at the International Symposium on Quality Electronic Design in 2009, and the Best Paper Award at the IEEE Trans. on Very Large Scale Integrated (VLSI) Systems  in  2011.    She  was  the  Chair  of  the  Association  for  Computing  Machinery  (ACM)  Special  Interest Group on Design Automation from 2005 to 2009. Diana is currently an Associate Editor for IEEE  Transactions  on  Computers  and  has  served  in  the  same  position  for  the  IEEE  Transactions  on  VLSI Systems and the ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems. She was selected as  an  ELATE  Fellow  (2013-­‐2014),  and  is  the  recipient  of  an  Australian  Research  Council  Future  Fellowship (2013-­‐2017) and the Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award (2014).  Diana is an IEEE Fellow and an ACM Distinguished Scientist.