Abhishek Bhattacharjee wins the 2023 ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award

June 21, 2023

Yale CS is proud to announce that Abhishek Bhattacharjee is the recipient of the 2023 ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award, the most prestigious mid-career award in the computer architecture community, for his “contributions to memory address translation used in widely available commercial microprocessors and operating systems.”

The award is named for Sir Maurice Wilkes, the Director of the University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory. Sir Maurice Wilkes was a pioneering British computer scientist who built the first operational stored-program computer and invented many other computing concepts in use today.

The Maurice Wilkes Award recognizes an outstanding contribution by a member of the computer architecture field within the first two decades of their professional career. Prior recipients include academic and industry luminaries with high-impact contributions to topics ranging from instruction-level parallelism, high issue-rate processors, cache coherence, memory consistency models, interconnection networks, power-efficient design as well as the conception of seminal computer architectures like the Pentium 4, Alpha, and more.

Abhishek’s work on memory translation has influenced the design of many tens to hundreds of millions of shipped CPUs, GPUs, and Linux operating systems. Congratulations, Abhishek!